The Friends of Canadian Music Award honours those who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment, on a national scale, to Canadian composers and their music.

The Canadian Music Centre and the Canadian League of Composers jointly administer and present this award. The Friends of Canadian Music Award is in the amount of $2000. This award will be divided as follows: $1000 for the recipient and $1000 for a composer of the recipient’s choice. This split is to help support an early-career composer, regardless of age, and to help build bridges between established and underrepresented or isolated communities.

Performers, orchestras, administrators, broadcasters, journalists, teachers, composers or others who have demonstrated an outstanding and exceptional dedication to Canadian composers and their music on a national scale are eligible for the Friends of Canadian Music award. An individual or group may submit nominations; however, self-nomination is not eligible. Current staff and board members of both the Canadian Music Centre and Canadian League of Composers are not eligible for the award.

The Friends of Canadian Music Award is committed to promoting diversity and inclusivity. Diversity in all its forms (race, culture, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, language, physical ability, geographical location, and age) will guide the jury’s decision, as well as a consideration of past winners to help promote equitable decisions in the long-term. Nominations of women and those from traditionally underrepresented populations are especially welcome.

Nominators must create a separate entry for each nominee if they are nominating more than one candidate. Nominators are encouraged to provide sufficient and relevant biography/CV data to aid the jury in recognizing the contribution of the nominee. The following items must be provided:

  • A letter (up to two pages total) describing why the nominee is deserving of this award;
  • A current biography and/or Curriculum Vitae of the nominee (up to three pages total), focusing on the nominee’s contribution to the support/advancement of Canadian composers and their music on a national scale;
  • Up to two letters of support (one page each).

Nominations submitted in the past two years will be automatically carried forward to the current pool of applicants. We encourage previous nominators to submit updated material pertaining to their nominee.

Nominations will be accepted by email to [email protected] (pdf files preferred), or by mail to:

Matthew Fava
Canadian Music Centre
20 St. Joseph Street
Toronto, ON
M4Y 1J9

2020 deadline coming soon.

2019 Quasar Saxophone Quartet
2018 Janice Isabel Jackson (shared with Sophie Dupuis)
2017 Tania Miller (shared with Carmyn Slater)
2016 Tim Brady (shared with Gabriel Dharmoo)
2015 NYO Canada (shared with Christopher Goddard)
2014 Bozzini Quartet (shared with Kyle Brenders and James O’Callaghan)
2013 Bramwell Tovey, Conductor, Composer and Music Director of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra.
2012 Lawrence Cherney, Artistic Director, SOUNDSTREAMS
2011 Julian Armour, music director, and Patricia Shand, academic (special lifetime achievement in Canadian music scholarship award)
2010 John Beckwith, composer, academic, music educator
2009 Véronique Lacroix, conductor, music educator, artistic director
2008 CBC Radio Orchestra, performers
2007 Christina Petrowska Quilico, performer
2006 Dr. Helmut Kallmann, music librarian/historian
2005 Joseph Petric, performer/commissioner
2004 Thomas & Isobel Rolston, music educators/artistic directors/administrators
2003 Mary Gardiner, music educator
2002 David Jaeger and Two New Hours with host Larry Lake, radio producer and broadcaster
2001 Ann Southam, composer
2000 Jon Washburn, artistic director
1999 James Dormeyer, television producer
1998 Don Wherry, artistic director
1997 Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects
1996 Jean-François Denis, promoter
1995 David Olds, broadcaster

Email Matthew

For More Information

Call Matthew Fava, Ontario Regional Director, 416.961.6601 x 207

Email Matthew