Centrediscs issues its first jazz compact disc.

This issue in the Canadian Composers Portraits series features the life and music of legendary Canadian jazz musician and composer Phil Nimmons. Recorded live in Toronto at the Montreal Bistro, the Dave McMurdo Jazz Orchestra performs hot new sessions of many of Phil’s classic works.

« One of the must-have discs of this year — make that this century. »
-Geoff Chapman, Toronto Star

« Phil Nimmons’ musical range is vast…He has consistently shown his creativity on the music most in need of pure ‘soul’ and emotion, something at the heart of this most modest man. It’s all on display on this release, which should be on speakers all over the world. »

– Ted O’Reilly, Wholenote

« I don’t know who conceived the idea for the Portraits series honoring Canadian composers, but it’s a splendid one—even more so when the honoree is still vertical and swinging, as is the case with Phil Nimmons, who for more than half a century has been one of that country’s most prolific and popular jazz musicians. »

– Jack Bowers, allaboutjazz

« Jazz big band fans will be well served here, and those who’ve been around a bit will surely enjoy the recollections of Mr. Nimmons…If music reflects the personality of its creator, then this most gentlemanly music is totally in keeping with the man. »
– Marc Chénard, The Music Scene

« These sessions were ‘wish I had been there’ occasions. »
– Bill Falconer, jazzreview.com

« One of Nimmons’ great fortes was ensemble writing – fat, juicy, and foot-tapping – which shines through the solos here. A fitting tribute. »
– Frank Rutter, Coda

« The band is tight and does a terrific job with Nimmons’ music. It’s big band jazz as it should be. »
– Chris Smith, Winnipeg Free Press

One of the « Coda Top Tens of 2005 »

Coda, Canada’s Jazz Magazine


Nimmons documentary produced and prepared by Eitan Cornfield / Documentaire sur Nimmons produit et présenté par Eitan Cornfield


1. Threeful

2. Sands of Time

3. Sarah

4. Blues for Someone

5. Carey Dance

6. Nufsicisum

7. Suite P.E.I – 2nd movement

8. Ed’s Comp

9. Night Crawler


1. Arf

2. UTS

3. Liëse

4. Three and Four

5. Muse The Blues

6. Herbs

7. It’s Up To You

8. The Torch

View the English transcription of the documentary.

Voir la traduction française de la transcription du documentaire.

We acknowledge the financial support of the Department of Canadian Heritage.

Nous reconnaissons l’appui financier du ministère du Patrimoine canadien.


Dave McMurdo Jazz Orchestra:
Saxophones: Campbell Ryga (lead alto & soprano); Don Englert (alto); Alex Dean (tenor); Quinsin Nachoff (tenor); Perry White (baritone)
Trumpets/Trompettes & Flugelhorns: Sandy Barter (lead); Jason Logue (lead); Chase Sanborn; Mike Malone; Neil Christoffersen
Trombones: Dave McMurdo; Rob Somerville (lead); Terry Promane; Ted Bohn; Bob Hamper (bass)
Rhythm Section / Section de rhythme: Brian Dickinson (piano); Reg Schwager (guitar/guitare); Paul Novotny (bass); Kevin Dempsey (drums/batterie)