I am pleased to share with you this collection of pieces for viola by Canadian composers. Of note are the two commissioned pieces: Sean Clarke’s « Enigmatic Variations » and Benjamin Sajo’s “A Three Dog Night.” Stewart Grant has transcribed his two movements for solo Viola especially for this album.
Finally, the Malcolm Forsyth, Jacques Hétu Concerto, and the Milton Barnes pieces make up a significant portion of this album.
Pianist Roger Admiral is recorded on this second album together, and his contributions are much appreciated. With these partnerships in mind, I hope that you will enjoy this CD.

—Margaret Carey



1-5, Malcolm Forsyth: Steps for Viola and Piano (1978)

  1. Buoyant
  2. Strange Light
  3. Violent
  4. Colours
  5. Jocular

6, Milton Barnes: Ballade for Solo Viola (1978)

7, Sean Clarke: Enigmatic Variations for Viola and Piano (2021)

8-11, Jacques Hétu: Viola Concerto, Op. 75 (2007)
1- Andante-Allegro
2- Vivace
3- Adagio
4- Allegro

12-13, Stewart Grant: Two Poems for Solo Viola, Op. 50a (2004)
1- Breath of Life
2- The Rear View Mirror

14-15, Milton Barnes: Lament and Hymn Tune Pavane, for Viola and Piano (1976)

16, Benjamin Sajo: A Three Dog Night for Viola and Piano (2021)