Anglais seulement

The 2023 Johanna Metcalf Performing Arts Prizes / Les Prix Johanna-Metcalf des Arts de la scène 2023

Celebrating Ontario’s leading creators in the performing arts

The Johanna Metcalf Performing Arts Prizes/Les Prix Johanna-Metcalf des Arts de la scène (Johannas) is one of the largest unrestricted prizes for artists in Ontario, celebrating mid-career and early-career artists across multiple disciplines.

For the 2023 Johannas, 15 finalists were selected from across Ontario in the disciplines of dance, theatre, and music/opera, including artists who are working in the spaces between and across these disciplines.

From the 15 finalists, five winners were selected who each received a prize of $25,000. Each winner named a protégé who was awarded $10,000 as a way of celebrating early career artists who are showing formidable promise. Starting this year, each of the remaining 10 finalists received a prize of $2,000, bringing the total value of the prizes to $195,000.

The five winners and their protégés for the 2023 Johannas are: Keith Barker & Chris Mejaki, John Kameel Farah & Evan Pointner, Natasha Powell & Raoul Wilke, Suba Sankaran & Shirsha Chakraborty, and Roydon Tse & Sami Anguaya.

Established in 2019 and named in honour of Johanna Metcalf — who was at the heart of the Metcalf Foundation’s work for over 40 years — the biennial prizes amplify her legacy as a passionate supporter of the arts and artists, and is delivered in partnership with the Ontario Arts Council.