Anglais seulement

The 47th Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition (E-Gré) for the performance of Canadian and contemporary music is pleased to announce its 2024 prize winners:

1st Prize: Justin Saulnier

2nd Prize: Tiffany Yeung

3rd Prize: Astrid Nakamura

City of Brandon Prize for the Best Performance of the Commissioned Work: Justin Saulnier

Finalist Prizes (in alphabetical order): Danielle Greene and Juliana Moroz.

On May 12, 2024, six of Canada’s best emerging string players performed recitals for the 47th Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition (E-Gré) in Strings. The E-Gré Competition began in 1976 and is the most important annual Canadian and contemporary music competition. This year we were able to hold the competition in person in Brandon, MB.

All five competitors performed one final recital, and each program was required to include at least  50% Canadian music, as well as this year’s commissioned work: Let the Stain Remain by Melody McKiver.

First place winner Justin Saulnier received a cash award of $6000, and will embark on a cross-Canada tour in October and November 2024. The Winner receives ca. $5000 in performance fees.

Second prize winner Tiffany Yeung received a cash prize of $2500 and third prize winner Astrid Nakamura received the Q Country 91.5, 94.7 Star FM & Westman Communications Group Prize of $1500 cash. The City of Brandon Prize of $1000 for the Best Performance of the 2024 commissioned piece, Let the Stain Remain by Melody McKiver, was awarded to Justin Saulnier. The remaining competing finalists each received a $1000 cash prize.

The jurors for this year’s competition were members of the Land’s End Ensemble: Maria van der Sloot, Beth Root Sandvoss and Susanne Ruberg-Gordon. The jury chair was President and CEO of the Canadian Music Centre, Holly Nimmons.

“I’m so thankful to have been part of this weekend filled with unique and beautiful music making. I had the privilege to witness Canadian contemporary music at its peak and share what it means to me. I would like to thank the E-Gré board and all its volunteers for making this experience memorable for all of us.”
-Justin Saulnier, 2024 E-Gré Winner

The 2024 E-Gré Competition gratefully acknowledges the support of Brandon University School of Music, Canada Council for the Arts, Manitoba Arts Council, SOCAN Foundation, the City of Brandon, Westman Communications Group, the Canadian Music Centre, RBC and many corporate and private donors.