HAMILTON, ON – The Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra has selected participants for the 20-21 Composer Fellowship Program. Designed in collaboration with the Ontario Region of the Canadian Music Centre and awarded to early-career Ontario-based composers, the fellowship offers six months of artistic and professional mentorship with HPO musicians, staff, Music Director Gemma New and Composer-in-Residence Abigail Richardson-Schulte. Two Composer Fellow positions were available to applicants: one for composers 25 and under and another for those 26 and over. Applications were reviewed by a jury including Music Director Gemma New, Composer-in-Residence Abigail Richardson-Schulte and Concertmaster Stephen Sitarski.

Composer Arie Verheul van de Ven was selected as Composer Fellow in the 25 or under category, and Matthias McIntire was selected as Composer Fellow in the over 26 category. In response to a number of strong applications, two additional composers were selected to receive the newly created HPO Future Award, providing recipients with an HPO reading session, professional development mentorship focused on professional score and part preparation, and an honorarium. These composers are Sophie Dupuis and Nathalee Jacques.

As a part of the program, each Composer Fellow will compose a work to be premiered in our 20-21 Broadcast Season. Arie Verheul van de Ven’s work will be presented at Postcards from Buenos Aires premiering April 24, 2021 at 7:30pm while Matthias McIntire’s work will be premiered at Mozart & Strauss premiering June 5, 2021 at 7:30pm. HPO Future Award Winners Sophie Dupuis and Nathalee Jacques will each have a reading session with the orchestra at Intimate & Immersive: Dragon Unfolding.

Complete Press Release