1. WU for piano solo (2002-03)

Eve Egoyan specializes in the performance of new works. She has appeared as a soloist in Canada, England, France, Germany, Japan and the United States. Her recordings include Hidden Corners/Recoins (music of Eric Satie), thethingsinbetween, The Art of Touching the Keyboard, and another single composer disc, Asking by Maria de Alvear. www.eveegoyan.com

Rudolf Komorous is an old composer, born and educated in Prague. In 1969 he moved to Canada and was appointed Director of the School of Music at the University of Victoria and later Director of the School for Contemporary Arts at Simon Fraser University. His latest CD, Strange Sphere, was recently released by Artifact Music. Now retired, he lives in Victoria, British Columbia.

Notes for the performance:

Wu is a piece in one movement. However, it comprises 31 segments which are divided by rests (from one to four beats). The rests should be performed exactly in the tempo of the segment they end.

The segments are to be played in the following order:

• number 1

• numbers 2 – 10 (in any order of the performer’s choice)

• number 11

• numbers 12 – 20 (in any order of the performer’s choice)

• number 21

• numbers 22 – 30 (in any order of the performer’s choice)

• number 31

The tempo throughout is slow, yet it varies from segment to segment. The tempi are given by the duration times (including the ending rests) which are given at the end of each segment. The indicated durations should be considered average times. In the performance they may vary according to the player’s temperament and feeling of the music. It is fully acceptable if segments of the durations from 15 seconds to 1 minute 15 seconds are performed up to 6 seconds shorter or longer, those of longer durations up to 12 seconds either way. The tempo is expected to fluctuate slightly within the segment.

Dynamics of this calm piece are left to the performer’s imagination. Pedalling should be used to enhance the quality of sound, NOT to let consecutive notes sound together.

The music is often written on one staff only. The player can use either hand, or both, as convenient.

Duration: about one hour.