Music by Daniel Janke
Featuring Mark Fewer – violin, Daniel Janke – piano and prepared piano

The title, Celestial Blue, is a reference to wide open blue sky and all the possibilities that implies.

Mark Fewer and Daniel Janke have worked together on numerous concert and film projects over the years. Celestial Blue is a culmination of their desire to explore this musical connection through a series of duets that represent their unique collaborative voice. Some of the compositions on Celestial Blue contain strong references to gospel and other folk traditions: music that resonates deeply for both Mark, with his Newfoundland roots, and Daniel, with his Ontario gospel roots. While the music is for the most part through-composed, there are elements of improvisation or comprovisation in some of the work.

Violinist Mark Fewer has been described as « genre-bending » (National Post), « intrepid » (Globe and Mail), « profound » (The Whole Note), and « freaky good » (The Gazette). His performance career has seen him tour worldwide. Mark was Artist-in-Residence at Stanford University, where he performed regularly as a member of the St. Lawrence String Quartet. He is currently on faculty at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University. markfewer.com.

Recent works by Daniel Janke include Weather Coming for Standing Wave Ensemble; String Quartet No. 1 for Penderecki String Quartet, and Miniatures for Nouvel Ensemble Moderne du Québec. Film scores include Subconscious Password (NFB, dir. Chris Landreth, Oscar short-list 2014). His feature film directorial debut The Grubstake Remix (2016) has been described as « An act of inspired creative repurposing… » (The Globe and Mail). danieljanke.com.

1. Just As I Am

2. V’la le bon vent
trad. arranged/adapted by Daniel Janke

3. Farther Along

4. She Sings

5. Constant Sorrow part I

6. Constant Sorrow part II

7. Touch

8. Follow Me

9. Celestial Blue