MüllMusik (literally ‘garbage music’) is derived from discarded and reused data. Materials such as audio and images from news and other, corporate logos, the components of various operating systems and programming languages, and donations from composers and sound artists of unused material were all converted and recycled as sound. Processing methods specific to the original data types were reinterpreted as ways of processing audio. Sounds were converted to image, and processed using imaging software and then converted back to sound. Although the resulting sound may be arbitrary in the sense of having no obvious connection with the original meaning of the data, in performance the piece plays at revealing the hidden sources of its material.

1. A Joke on Copyright

2. Media Bites

3. The Drab Debate the Dreary

4. Photo Shopped Music

5. Krispy Kernels

6. A Graveyard of Unwanted Sound