E-Gré Music Competition announces 2021 Finalists

Brandon, Manitoba – The 44th Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition 2021 in Strings, taking place online
April 16 – 18, 2021, announces that the six selected finalists are: Ariel Carrabré, Brandon, MB, with pianist
Michel-Alexandre Broekaert; Christopher Hwang, Toronto, ON, with pianist Younggun Kim; Julia Mirzoev,
Toronto, ON, with pianist Meaghan Milatz; Isabella Perron, Montreal, QC, with pianist Todd Yaniw; David
Liam Roberts, Winnipeg, MB, with pianist Paul Williamson; and Julien Siino, Quebec City, QC, with pianist
Edward Liddall.

Commonly known as the E-Gré Competition, this annual event focuses on the exceptional performance of
contemporary music by Canada’s top emerging artists. Created as a tribute to composer and pianist/violinist S. C.
Eckhardt-Gramatté, the competition highlights Canadian music. This year the competition is open to Canadian
string players between the ages of 18 and 35. Hosted annually at the Brandon University School of Music every
spring, it alternates between Strings (2021), Piano (2022), and Voice (2023).

Nationally recognized for its high standards, the E-Gré Competition offers its competitors excellent opportunities.
This year the first prize includes a cash award of $6,000 and a cross-Canada recital tour (which provides an
additional ca. $5,000 in artist fees each for the winner and collaborative pianist).
A second cash prize of $2,500 and a third prize of $1,500 are also awarded; the fourth, fifth and sixth finalists will
receive a $1,000 prize each. In addition, the City of Brandon Prize of $1,000 honours the best performance of the
annual commissioned work. The 2021 E-Gré commissioned work is La Pieta (After Monkman) by Métis composer
Ian Cusson.

The jurors for the preliminary round of the competition, which took place in January 2021, were violinist Müge
Büyükçelen, violinist Kerry DuWors (2003 E-Gré Winner), and cellist Eric Wilson. The jurors for the livestreamed
final round and the Gala Artists are the Bozzini Quartet: Clemens Merkel, Stéphanie Bozzini, Isabelle Bozzini, and
Alissa Cheung. The jury chair is Glenn Hodgins, President and CEO of the Canadian Music Centre. The Final
Round concerts will be hosted by E-Gré Artistic Director Megumi Masaki, from Brandon University’s School of
Music in Brandon, Manitoba. All final recitals will be livestreamed on Saturday, April 17th, with finalists and their
pianists performing from safe spaces near their respective homes. Recitals will be streamed on the Competition’s
website (e-gre.ca) via Vimeo.

Saturday, April 17th, 2021 Final Recitals:
9:00 am CST – David Liam Roberts 2:00 pm CST – Julien Siino
10:30 am CST – Isabella Perron 4:00 pm CST – Ariel Carrabré
12:30 pm CST – Christopher Hwang 6:00 pm CST – Julia Mirzoev

The 2021 E-Gré Competition gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, Manitoba
Arts Council, SOCAN Foundation, Brandon University and the E-Gré Development Fund, Brandon Area
Community Foundation, City of Brandon, Westman Communications Group and many corporate and private

For more information please contact the Eckhardt-Gramatté (E-Gré) Competition Office:
Aren Teerhuis, Administrative Officer, [email protected]

Complete Press Release